Living Telematics

Living Telematics
Transport is an open, living system that is constantly changing and dynamically adapting to new requirements. idem telematics connects vehicles, drivers and freight based on the same principle.

WHY SIZE DOES MATTER

DATA IS THE GOLD OF THE 21ST CENTURY. AND THE STREETS ARE LITERALLY PAVED WITH IT – IDEM TELEMATICS OPENS UP SIGNIFICANT PRODUCTIVITY AND EFFICIENCY GAINS FOR THE TRANSPORT INDUSTRY. THIS IS DUE TO AN OPEN SYSTEM AND THE COMPANY’S SIZE AS THE EUROPEAN MARKET LEADER.

Coding with customers and colleagues – at idem telematics, practical experience from day-to-day business in the transport industry flows directly into program code.
Living Telematics
Living Telematics
idem telematics also relies on integration when it comes to hardware, and its new on-board computer greatly simplifies installation, commissioning and driver communication.

DATA DRIVES SUCCESS – IF YOU ARE OPEN TO IT

According to a large-scale study conducted by Commerzbank in 2018 on behalf of Germany’s Association of Large and Medium-Sized Enterprises (Bundesverband Groß- und Außenwirtschaft), German SMEs struggle to systematically leverage data as a raw material for their business success. According to this study, most companies do not have a problem with the knowledge, however, but rather with the implementation of mining the gold of the 21st century. This is where idem telematics comes in – with personalised consultations and an open system architecture, the BPW subsidiary supports transport companies in starting to use data in their own individual way and in refining their methods with flexibility.

Living Telematics
Jens Zeller: Managing director, idem telematics

In the future, telematics will form a platform for new partnerships and joint business models. And will be quite successful:

“Over a period of more than 20 years, we have acquired a profound understanding of transport processes and our customers’ needs,”

explains Jens Zeller, managing director of idem telematics, “this experience has led to the development of an open platform that can be used for every conceivable application in transport and logistics. This is why we also integrate data from external systems and sensors – and conversely, we support data sharing between truck, van and trailer manufacturers via open interfaces.” And idem telematics has been quite successful with this approach, creating networks through broad-based partnerships with Daimler Fleetboard, but also with RIO, the digital brand of the TRATON Group (formerly Volkswagen Truck & Bus), Schmitz Cargobull – and all relevant manufacturers of refrigeration units.

A successful partnership – from running gear to telematics: Ralf Merkelbach (head of Key Account Management Large Fleets Europe at BPW) and Matthias Bohm (vice president, Global Sourcing Manager Ground Fleet at Deutsche Post DHL).
Living Telematics

Building bridges, connecting all of the different elements together and even integrating competing systems is a philosophy that has made idem telematics the European market leader. A philosophy deeply rooted in the reality of the transport business, explains Jens Zeller: “Transport companies mainly operate mixed fleets with a wide variety of vehicle types and brands. With trailers and swap trailers, the possible combinations are practically endless anyway. This is an extremely complex, heterogeneous world that has shaped our mindset and technology. Transport companies want to maintain their independence and not be dominated by individual manufacturers. We are successful because we understand and support them.”

So successful that idem telematics continues to expand its lead as the European market leader.

Living Telematics

The “digital seal” from idem telematics was awarded the 2018 Telematics Award at the 2018 IAA Commercial Vehicles trade fair. It replaces the cumbersome leaded seal used to secure the trailer door with an invisible protective barrier. The digital seal saves time, secures the cargo on the basis of individual specifications – for example via geofencing – and enables the documentation of the transport in a legally enforceable manner.

idem telematics is the preferred partner of leading trailer rental and leasing companies, including PEMA, EURO-Leasing and Fraikin. In the summer of 2019, the world’s leading logistics company Deutsche Post DHL announced that it would be connecting its trailer fleets throughout Europe with idem telematics. With the largest individual contract in the company’s history, idem telematics is significantly expanding its position as European market leader. But it isn’t just the major players who are benefiting from this – idem telematics’ market dominance offers small and medium-sized transport companies the certainty of relying on a strong partner and future-proof systems established throughout the industry. The fact that idem telematics, as a subsidiary of the BPW Group, can also guarantee service and a supply of spare parts throughout Europe is
not only appreciated by global corporations such as DHL.

idem telematics also focuses on integration and open systems when it comes to its hardware. As such, the next generation of the “TC Gateway” on-board computer integrates hardware for the first time that previously had to be installed separately – and communicates with sensors and the towing vehicle via five different wireless standards. Eliminating the need for cabling drastically simplifies installation. Commissioning, configuration, garage service and driver communication will also be wireless in future.

This not only makes the new gateway appealing for vehicle manufacturers and transport companies, but also creates a platform for new partnerships and joint business models. In this context, idem telematics recently entered into a development partnership with the tire group Goodyear. The goal of this alliance is to open up completely new levels of efficiency and mobility for transport companies – and it confirms idem telematics’ role as a pioneer of connected transport.

“The idem telematics platform can be quickly linked into existing IT infrastructures. This means that we can provide a consistent Europe- wide solution and also take into account the individual requirements of our national subsidiaries with flexibility.”

Matthias Bohm, DHL

Living Telematics

Living Telematics
Transport ist ein offenes, lebendiges system, das sich ständig wandelt und dynamisch neuen Anforderungen anpasst. Nach dem gleichen Prinzip funktioniert auch die Vernetzung von Fahrzeugen, Fahrern und Fracht durch idem telematics.

WARUM ES DOCH AUF DIE GRÖSSE ANKOMMT

DATEN SIND DAS GOLD DES 21. JAHRHUNDERTS. UND ES LIEGT BUCHSTÄBLICH AUF DER STRASSE: IDEM TELEMATICS ERSCHLIESST DEM TRANSPORT BEDEUTENDE PRODUKTIVITÄTS- UND EFFIZIENZGEWINNE. DER GRUND: SYSTEMOFFENHEIT – UND GRÖSSE ALS EUROPÄISCHER MARKTFÜHRER.

Codieren mit Kunden und Kollegen: Bei idem telematics fließen praktische Erfahrungen aus dem Transportalltag direkt in die Programmierung ein.
Living Telematics
Living Telematics
Auch bei der Hardware setzt idem telematics auf Integration: Der neue Bordrechner vereinfacht die Installation, Inbetriebnahme und Fahrerkommunikation extrem.

DATEN TREIBEN DEN ERFOLG – WENN MAN DAFÜR OFFEN IST

Der deutsche Mittelstand tut sich schwer damit, Daten als Rohstoff systematisch für seinen Geschäftserfolg zu nutzen, konstatierte noch 2018 eine groß angelegte Studie der Commerzbank unter der Schirmherrschaft des Bundesverbands Groß- und Außenwirtschaft. Demnach hätten die meisten Unternehmen jedoch kein Erkenntnis-, sondern eher ein Umsetzungsproblem, das Gold des 21. Jahrhunderts zu schürfen. An dieser Stelle setzt idem telematics an: Mit einer persönlichen Beratung und einer offenen Systemarchitektur unterstützt die BPW Tochter Transportunternehmer darin, ihren individuellen Einstieg in die Datennutzung zu finden – und flexibel weiterzuentwickeln.

Living Telematics
Jens Zeller: Geschäftsführer idem telematics

Telematik bildet in Zukunft eine Plattform für neue Partnerschaften und gemeinsame Geschäftsmodelle. Mit Erfolg:

„In über 20 Jahren haben wir ein profundes Know-how über Transportprozesse und die Bedürfnisse unserer Kunden gewonnen“,

erklärt Jens Zeller, Geschäftsführer von idem telematics, „diese Erfahrung hat zur Entwicklung einer systemoffenen Plattform geführt, die jede denkbare Anwendung in Transport und Logistik abbildet. Wir integrieren deshalb auch Daten aus externen Systemen und Sensoren – und umgekehrt unterstützen wir über offene Schnittstellen den Datenaustausch mit Truck-, Van- und Trailerherstellern.“ Mit Erfolg: So vernetzt sich idem telematics über weit reichende Partnerschaften mit Daimler Fleetboard, aber auch mit Rio, der Digitalmarke der Traton Group (früher Volkswagen Truck & Bus), sowie mit Schmitz Cargobull – und allen relevanten Herstellern von Kühlaggregaten.

Erfolgreiche Zusammenarbeit – vom Fahrwerk bis zur Telematik: Ralf Merkelbach (Leiter Key Account Management Großflotten Europa bei BPW) und Matthias Bohm (Vice President Global Sourcing Manager Ground Fleet bei Deutsche Post DHL).
Living Telematics

Brücken zu bauen, alles mit allem zu vernetzen und selbst konkurrierende Systeme zu integrieren, ist eine Philosophie, die idem telematics zum europäischen Marktführer gemacht hat. Eine Philosophie, die tief in der Realität des Transportgeschäfts wurzelt, erklärt Jens Zeller: „Transportunternehmer betreiben hauptsächlich Mischflotten mit den unterschiedlichsten Fahrzeugtypen und -marken. Bei Trailern und Wechselbrücken sind die Kombinationsmöglichkeiten ohnehin praktisch unbegrenzt. Das ist eine extrem komplexe, heterogene Welt, die unser Denken und unsere Technologie geprägt hat. Transportunternehmer wollen ihre Unabhängigkeit wahren und sich nicht von einzelnen Herstellern dominieren lassen. Weil wir sie verstehen und darin unterstützen, sind wir erfolgreich.“

So erfolgreich, dass idem telematics seinen Vorsprung als europäischer Marktführer immer weiter ausbaut.

Living Telematics

Die „digitale Plombe“ von idem telematics wurde auf der IAA Nutzfahrzeuge 2018 mit dem Telematik Award 2018 ausgezeichnet: Sie ersetzt die umständliche und bleihaltige Trailer-Türsicherung durch eine unsichtbare Schutzmauer. Die digitale Plombe spart Zeit, sichert die Ware nach individuellen Vorgaben – zum Beispiel Geofencing – und ermöglicht eine juristisch verwertbare Dokumentation des Transports.

idem telematics ist der bevorzugte Partner führender Trailervermieter und Leasinggesellschaften, darunter PEMA, EURO-Leasing und Fraikin. Im Sommer 2019 gab das weltweit führende Logistikunternehmen Deutsche Post DHL bekannt, seine Trailerflotten europaweit mit idem telematics zu vernetzen. Mit dem größten Einzelauftrag in der Geschichte des Unternehmens baut idem telematics seinen Vorsprung als europäischer Marktführer erheblich aus. Davon profitieren jedoch nicht nur die Großen: Die Marktbedeutung von idem telematics verspricht gerade auch kleineren und mittleren Transportunternehmen die Sicherheit, auf einen leistungsstarken Partner und branchenweit etablierte, zukunftssichere Systeme zu setzen. Dass idem telematics als Tochter der BPW Gruppe zudem in ganz Europa Service und Ersatzteilversorgung sicherstellen kann, wissen schließlich nicht nur globale Konzerne wie DHL zu schätzen.

Auch bei der Hardware setzt idem telematics auf Integration und Systemoffenheit: Die nächste Generation des Bordrechners TC Trailer Gateway integriert erstmals Hardware, die bisher gesondert montiert werden musste – und kommuniziert mit Sensoren und dem Zugfahrzeug über fünf verschiedene Funkstandards. Der Entfall der Verkabelung vereinfacht die Montage radikal. Auch Inbetriebnahme, Konfiguration, Werkstatt-Service und Fahrerkommunikation gehen künftig drahtlos vonstatten.

Das macht das neue Gateway nicht nur für Fahrzeughersteller und Transportunternehmer attraktiv, sondern bildet darüber hinaus eine Plattform für neue Kooperationen und gemeinsame Geschäftsmodelle: So hat idem telematics mit dem Reifenkonzern Goodyear unlängst eine Entwicklungspartnerschaft geschlossen. Ein Schulterschluss, der Transportunternehmern völlig neue Dimensionen der Effizienz und Mobilität erschließen soll – und die Rolle von idem telematics als Wegbereiter der Transportvernetzung bekräftigt.

„Die Plattform von idem telematics lässt sich schnell in bestehende IT-Infrastrukturen anbinden. Auf diese Weise können wir eine konsistente europaweite Lösung darstellen und zugleich flexibel individuelle Anforderungen unserer Landesorganisationen berücksichtigen.“

Matthias Bohm